Posted by: Beverly Davidson, LMSW | November 12, 2016

November 8, 2016

November 8,2016

please tell me this is all a dream

I cannot breathe,  I cannot see

the world is about to crash all around me

60, 467, 601 people chose our finest hour

but 60,072,551 bigots now have power

Beliefs over science will prevail

and now the climate will go to hell

If you are male white and wealthy

you can sleep

If you are anything else

you can’t eat or breathe

“stand up, we will rise”

I am so tired of saying this

I WANT TO DIE

I really thought she would prevail

but seems like everyone chose hate and her emails

All we hold dear like

education, climate, civil rights

women’s health, and the safety net

Fuck, I can’t imagine how we will ever rest

Safety pins are nice and all

but there are not enough to break down a wall

Racism, Sexism, and Greed did this to us

will we ever get off the back of the bus?

Some who have done this are now a bit stunned

well then maybe you should read the Parable of the Good Samaritan

Some are saying to honor the democracy

fuck that shit, because we’re now living in an autocracy

Calls for unity by the white and privileged

makes me feel all the more bitter and ravaged

Don’t tell me to be calm and wait and see

because we all know how a demagogue will be

September, 1939, can’t you see?

by Beverly Davidson, 11/12/16

Peace, grace and healing to us all. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

