Posted by: Beverly Davidson, LMSW | February 15, 2013

ode to a baby

I love babies.  I love working with babies and their parents, I love holding them and seeing all the potential in their little eyes.  Yesterday I was holding a baby who came to the world much too early, and exposed to way too much before he was even born. My heart was breaking for all that he has endured in such a short time. I hope he could hear me when I held him close and told him he was going to be ok.  I hope the moments of goodness he has will turn into a lifetime of joy.  I long for his caretaker to understand him, and to see him.  These are my wishes for him and all babies, but especially for my babies who come to this earth with so many strikes against them.  I so hope they hear these words and have these experiences with someone who loves them .  Every baby, every child, deserves this.  

ode to a baby

You bring me so much joy, and my life is better with you in it

I want to give you the world, but not too much too soon

I never knew I could feel so much love, so thank you for opening my heart

You have given me a new life, a new dream, a new perspective

And I hope I do not disappoint you

So for now this is what I promise you

I am going to hold you close and look into your eyes

And with every moment I will see all the hope that you bring

When you cry I will come to you, hoping I can calm your fears

When you laugh I will laugh with you

When you smile I will smile with you

When you need me I will be there

When you need to let go a little, I will understand and embrace your curiosity

When you need to come back again, my arms will be open

When we are out of sync, I will strive to see your beauty

Sometimes I will make mistakes, and when I do I will tell you I am sorry

With all that we experience together, some of it hard, some of it easy, always know that you are wanted 

And I love you.  

Beverly Davidson. 2/15/13

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Really beautiful! Thank you.

  2. Thank you, Bev. Feeling seen is sometimes all that matters.


Leave a Reply

Categories

